Can you attack a player with protection MTG?
702.16e Any harm that sources with the aforementioned quality would cause to a permanent or a player wearing protection is avoided. 702.16f Creatures with the specified quality cannot block attacking creatures with protection.
Can you attack a creature with protection?
As you pointed out, a creature that has protection from something cannot be targeted, dealt damage by, blocked by, enchanted by, or equipped by anything that possesses that “something” quality. Typically, one or more colors make up that quality.
How does protection work in MTG?
Observation: Protection MTG
In conclusion, the keyword ability of “protection” protects a card from being harmed, enchanted or equipped, targeted at, or blocked by anything with a particular quality. Anything from a color to a mana value can be this quality. White offers the most protection, but all other colors can as well.
Can a creature with protection deal damage?
So how do creatures respond to protection? A creature with protection from a color “cannot be blocked, targeted, dealt damage by, enchanted by, or equipped by anything” of that color, according to the reminder text.
Can you attack someone who Teferi’s protection?
While you are shielded from all attacks, creatures can still attack you, but any combat damage they would otherwise do to you won’t happen. Gaining protection from everything makes any spell or ability that targets you on the stack have an illegal target.
Can you counter a card with protection?
Protection can still be used against something. It is still possible to target something that “can’t be countered” Permanent cards typically only have abilities that activate when an item is on the battlefield [CR 112.6]. However, on the battlefield, something cannot be countered.
Does protection stop trample?
Trample actually passes through protection, which may seem counterintuitive. The key is that the attacker must deal lethal damage to the defending creature before freeing up the player to take the remaining damage.
Does protection from white stop wrath of God?
Damage is caused by the Gods’ rage, which is stopped by defense. The four items on the list are not accomplished by the wrath of God, so it is unaffected. Just to be clear, they mean that God’s wrath is unaffected when they say “unaffected.” White will not be able to protect a creature from God’s wrath.
Does protection from a color prevent trample?
All damage that is assigned to a creature is prevented by protection from a color. Since only lethal damage needs to be dealt to the creature during the damage assignment process before the attacker can deal you trample damage.
Can you be milled with Teferi’s protection?
Not at all, no. The text here is identical to the Oracle text. The permanents are being phased out, and the player is protected. Your life total cannot change until your next turn, and you are shielded from all harm.
Does Deathtouch stop trample?
All harm has been repaired. This includes any harm caused to you or by Deadly Recluse, as well as any trample damage.
Does First Strike Deathtouch stop trample?
Creatures with deathtouch can’t always block. Even if you have a single creature with deathtouch, your opponent will still suffer damage if you have too many attackers or if your attackers have evasive abilities like flying or trample.
Does indestructible prevent exile?
This is what? There are many other ways to handle an Indestructible threat besides simply having the creature die, and depending on the circumstance, they can be just as effective as putting the card in the graveyard. Cards can still be exiled even if they are indestructible.
Does indestructible prevent destroy all creatures?
Indestructible creatures are immune to all effects that would typically kill them, such as: Damage (including combat damage) any effects that cause a creature to “die.”
Does Hexproof stop wrath of God?
No, whether there are other targets (“up to two target creatures”) or not, creatures with shroud and hexproof cannot be targets (“target creature”).
Does prevent all damage stop destroy?
No, “prevent all damage” only protects against actual damage, such as that which occurs when a creature inflicts combat damage on you or when a spell or ability (which will actually say “damage”) deals damage to a target creature or player.
Can you trample over a Planeswalker?
Overstep planeswalkers (The controller of the planeswalker this creature is attacking may take extra combat damage from this creature.) A keyword ability called Trample modifies the guidelines for determining damage in the Combat Damage Step.
Does Hexproof block trample?
Hexproof won’t shield players or creatures from this damage because combat damage is not targeted and Trample doesn’t target the players or creatures that are blocking it.
How does Teferi’s protection work with tokens?
“Next” in a Magic game means “nearest,” as usual. If you use Teferi’s Protection during your turn, the effects will continue until the start of your untap step and will stop during all of your opponents’ turns. Teferi’s Protection’s effect will expire at the beginning of your turn if it is cast during an opponent’s turn.
Can’t be prevented MTG?
Damage this turn cannot be averted. A source that you control deals twice as much damage as it normally would this turn. Any target will sustain X damage from Lava Burst. If Lava Burst would harm a creature, that harm cannot be stopped or transferred to a player or another permanent.
How do you protect creatures from board wipes?
ETB effects continue to have value even after the creature has died, much like death triggers do. Another choice is to simply kill them even after the board has been cleared using burn or creatures with haste. Additionally, I think Shepherd of the Flock is a very economical way to get some defense against wipe effects.
Does phasing out count as leaving the battlefield?
Aspects that look for those conditions won’t be applicable because phasing in or out doesn’t count as permanently entering or exiting the battlefield. Any auras or equipment that are connected to a permanent when it phases out will also phase out.
Can a token phase out?
While being phased out, tokens still exist on the battlefield. While it is being phased out, counters are still on a permanent. The phasing event will not be considered as having caused the permanent to leave or enter the battlefield or its controller’s control by effects that check a phased-in permanent’s history.
Does shield counter stop Deathtouch?
How Does Shield Defense Against Deathtouch Work? Shield counters are effective against deathtouch because this effect prevents damage. The shield counter prevents deathtouch from dealing its intended lethal damage.
Are Planeswalkers affected by Deathtouch?
Deathtouch Each opponent loses 1 life when a creature you control with deathtouch attacks, while you gain 1 life. Destroy a planeswalker whenever a creature you control with deathtouch inflicts damage on a planeswalker.
Can first strike be blocked?
Even though first strike creatures deal damage before other creatures do, this does not guarantee that your creatures will survive the damage. You can just use stronger creatures that will survive the initial combat step to block the first strike creatures.
What happens when both creatures have first strike?
The first combat damage step deals combat damage to creatures with double strikes and those with first strikes. In the second combat damage step, all creatures that didn’t assign combat damage in the first combat damage step do so.
Does Hexproof stop Lifelink?
Even if a creature with hexproof, ward, or shroud receives damage from a lifelink creature, lifelink continues to function normally. This is due to the fact that the lifelink ability gives you life directly rather than ever targeting the creature.
Can I enchant my own Hexproof creature?
Hexproof prevents spells and abilities that your opponents control from being used on creatures that have it. This means that the majority of your opponents’ removal spells won’t help them if you equip your hexproof creature with enchantments or cast a spell that grants it +3/+3 in combat. (Can you see why hexproof is so divisive?)
Can you sacrifice a creature with indestructible?
Yes. Indestructible only shields against fatal harm and “destroy” effects. The permanent isn’t actually destroyed when it is sacrificed; it is simply put into your graveyard.
Does indestructible prevent 0 toughness?
The “legend rule” sacrifice, or (in the case of creatures) having zero or less toughness can all be used to place indestructible permanents into their owner’s graveyard. They can also be banished or bounced, for example, to remove them from the battlefield.
Do Planeswalkers have summoning sickness?
Planeswalkers typically do not experience summoning sickness. In Magic: The Gathering, planeswalkers have the ability to use it on the same turn that they are played. Some Planeswalkers have the capacity to transform into creatures, which exposes them to summoning disease.
Do board wipes affect shroud?
Do board wipes destroy the shroud? Shroud creatures can be killed by board wipes. Board wipes target none of the creatures, instead destroying or otherwise eliminating all of the creatures simultaneously.
Does destroy count as dying?
Both damage and the keyword have the potential to cause destruction. On the other hand, going to the graveyard as a result of other effects, such as having toughness or loyalty reduced to 0, or as a result of being sacrificed, is not considered destruction; the more general term “dies” does include these cases.
Does exile count as destroying?
In magic, the Exile and the Graveyard are two different places. A card is placed in the graveyard by “Destroy” and the exile zone by “Exile” Some cards, like Eternal Witness, have the ability to retrieve items from your graveyard.
Does double strike damage trample?
Additionally, double strike, which enables creatures to deal twice as much damage during combat, pairs well with trampling. Both the regular damage step and the first strike damage step are used to deal damage by creatures with double strike. Your life total will decrease if the creatures that are blocking you are unable to take all that damage.
Can you trample over a creature with protection?
Yes. If they defend with a 2/2 green creature protection while you attack with a 7/7 green creature with trample, the creature will take damage equal to its toughness (2) and the other 5 will trample over to the player.